Theatre New Zealand Playwrighting AWARDS

OLGA E. HARDING NEW NZ PLAYWRITING AWARD The Olga E Harding New NZ Playwriting Award for new scripts is named after one of the founding members of New Zealand Theatre Federation who for many years was actively involved with the British Drama League – BDL and who, after the formation of NZTF became one of its Presidents.
The aim of the Award is to encourage playwrights to write short plays – 15 – 50 minutes, that can be assessed by a professional dramaturg. All entries will receive a written report.
It is also a requirement that the script receives a production in a Local TheatreFest in the year that the script is entered for the Award.
The benefits of entering are, therefore, two fold. The script is assessed in order to allow the playwright positive feedback on their writing, which will assist with any future writing and they also get to see a live production of their script on stage.
If you are presenting a new New Zealand play that has not been performed more than three months prior to the current year Local TheatreFest, then the Playwright may be eligible for the Olga E. Harding New NZ Playwriting Award.
If the Playwright’s script is to be considered for this Award, please complete the Olga E. Harding Entry Form and send, together with a copy of the script and entry fee, to the TheatreFest National Administrator.

Closing date for 2018 – Friday 20 July
Entry form -
This is an annual playwriting Award. It is administered by Playmarket and is open to any New Zealand citizen or permanent resident for any type of play script, with each play read by a panel of industry professionals.
Theatre New Zealand encourages playwrights entering the Olga E. Harding New NZ Playwriting Award to also enter the Adam NZ Play Award.
Prizes for the Adam NZ Play Award
Playmarket is very grateful for the generosity of the Adam Foundation, The Play Press and The PumpHouse Theatre, for offering the following prizes:
The Best Play: $5,000 and a public reading at Circa Theatre.
The Best Play by a Maori Playwright: $1,000 and development resources.
The Best Play by a Pasifika Playwright: $1,000 and development resources.
The Best Play by a Woman Playwright: $1,000 and appropriate development resources.
Special Prize for a Woman Playwright: Submission by The Play Press for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize.
Special Prize for an Auckland Playwright: A two-week development season plus presentation, fully funded by The PumpHouse Theatre, with a view to inclusion in their programme in the following year.
All who make the short list will be included in Playmarket’s Script Register for distribution to potential producers. Should anyone want to license your play, Playmarket will offer to negotiate the licence for you.
For further information and a submission form, please go to the following webpage:


  • Black Facebook Icon

        Pahiatua Repertory Society 

        64 Main Street 



  • Facebook Social Icon